Upcoming Events

Login Form


Message from NPPB

Pitch and Putt now exists for 15 years in Holland. Because of this a special magazine is been published. Unfortunately for you it is in the Dutch language. Except for one nice article. An article about a Skype conversation between Ray Murphy and Rolf Kwant and where they talk about our great sport Pitch and Putt. You can find the article on page 38.

Click here to go to the magazine

With regards,

International Open Pairs Tournament

The 2013 Catalan International Open Pairs tournament was staged on the weekend of 12/13 October 2013 at Lloret Papalus. Overnight leaders Manel Martinez and Miquel Roger from Catalonia carded a 49 in Sunday's fourball better ball to win with a 19 under par aggregate of 143 for the 54 holes. Roger and Martinez finished two shots clear of two pairs, one Irish, one Catalan. World Strokeplay champion John Walsh and his colleague Liam Scannell fired a Sunday best 44 in the fourball to edge Catalans Enric Sanz and Sergi Pena for second place on the tiebreaker. Two more Catalan teams and an Irish combination tied on 146, fourth place on the tiebreaker going to Borja Ramon and Antonius van Zantvoort, ahead of Jordi Serra and Daniel Gimenez in 5th and Colin Somers and William Buckley in 6th.

Final leaderboard here.

Leading the way after Saturday's 36 holes were the Catalan combination of Manel Martinez and Miquel Roger. Roger and Martinez fired 44 in the greensomes and 50 in the foursomes for a fourteen under par 94 aggregate. That gave Roger and Martinez a one shot overnight margin over fellow Catalans Joan Carles Pena and Frederic Lloret (43+52). Two Irish teams, Colin Somers & William Buckley and Liam O'Donovan and Pacelli Darcy, were tied third on 96. In a bunched field, there were four more pairs on 97, including the Galicians Sarmiento and Conde and local Lloret personality Xavi Ponsdemench with Eric Puig.

36 hole leaderboard here.

Sunday pairings here.

See the Saturday pairings here.

See the list of pairs entered here.

Get all the logistical details here. 



 Gualta beat Franciac

Throughout the year in Catalonia teams representing clubs compete in the most popular Interclubs tournament circuit. Come the end of September the top eight clubs with the lowest accumulated scores are invited to compete for the coveted Solius Trophy. This is played in a 'Seve Trophy' Matchplay format. Many of the players who competed last weekend Oct. 4th/6th had actually started to play Pitch and Putt on that wonderful course in Solius, as did the victorious Irish team back in 1997 at Catalonia's first international tournament. However it's now eight years since the course was closed. It is in the fond memory of Solius that the climax of the years' teams events is honoured. Last weekend the teams battled it out until late Sunday afternoon with the team from Gualta beating Franciac by the closest of margins. A great weekend of top class Pitch and Putt was enjoyed by all.

Photo: Helena Batlle 


Page 9 of 78